Ukraine-Russia Tensions: Putin Recognises Donetsk And Lugansk Separatist Areas As Independent Nations

  • 2 years ago
On February 21, Vladimir Putin, Russian President, recognised the independence of two separatist regions in eastern Ukraine, Donetsk & Lugansk. This move has led to many countries in the West, including the US, to impose sanctions on Russia. Donetsk and Lugansk, the two self-declared people's republics, are situated in eastern Ukraine. They are home to Russia-backed rebels who have been fighting Ukrainian forces since 2014, reported BBC. In a televised address, Putin said, “The Soviet Ukraine arose thanks to the Bolshevik policy.” The United States condemned Putin's move. As reported by AFP, Boris Johnson, UK Prime Minister said, “A flagrant violation of the sovereignty and integrity of the Ukraine.” Meanwhile, Lenin Square in Donetsk witnessed celebrations. Fireworks were at display in Donbass to celebrate Putin’s signing of decree. Watch the video to know more.