- yesterday
In this video Neil Tappin is joined by rules expert Jeremy Ellwood to look at the 6 rules golfers find confusing. They cover everything from when to practice on the course to your dropping options when faced with a bunker filled with water. Jeremy's clear explanations should help you avoid any unwanted penalty shots in these scenarios.
Category
🥇
SportsTranscript
00:00Hello everyone, Neil Tappin here from Golf Monthly and welcome to Prince's Golf Club
00:03and this video on the six rules that golfers find confusing. Now what you're going to watch
00:07is a conversation between myself and Jez Elwood where we've picked out six scenarios out here
00:12on the golf course where certain rules will come into play that you will need to know.
00:16Right, let's get started.
00:17That ball's moving, oh no. Right, I thought it was fairly solidly placed there but it was
00:32obviously a critical blade of grass that I've just disturbed.
00:34You've accidentally caused your ball to move.
00:37Yes, indeed.
00:37Jez, in this video we are covering scenarios that golfers find confusing. Where do you think
00:42the confusion arises here?
00:44Well, I think the confusion arises because people want to believe they won't be penalised
00:47for anything accidental on the golf course but that's not always the case and in the
00:51general area where we are here, if you cause your ball to move, you are still penalised.
00:56Right.
00:57So you do need to tread carefully. There are scenarios where you aren't penalised. On the
01:01putting green, accidental movement is no longer a penalty and when you're searching for your
01:06ball, if you're treading it by mistake, there's no longer a penalty there. In all those circumstances
01:11and even in this circumstance, you must replace the ball where it was before playing on.
01:15Yeah, but in this scenario, there's a penalty shot to add.
01:18There is.
01:19And then what about, what I was going to ask you about, what about on the tee? So let's
01:22say you're about to hit your tee shot.
01:23Yeah.
01:24And you accidentally just dink your ball off the tee.
01:26Yeah.
01:27Somebody in the group says one.
01:28Yes.
01:29Everyone has a good laugh.
01:30Amusingly.
01:31Do you get a penalty shot in that scenario?
01:32You don't because at that point on that hole, the ball is not in play. So it's only when
01:35your ball is in play as it is here, you know, close to the green on this hole on the general
01:39area. That is a penalty on the teeing area before you've played your tee shot. You can
01:44knock it off with the toe of your club and it's not a problem.
01:46So I think the advice here is to be careful. If your ball is perched on a tuft like Jez
01:50was here, tread carefully around the ball because if you are deemed to have caused it to move,
01:55unfortunately, you've broken the rules.
01:58Right, Jez. So I'm confused. And the reason I'm confused is my ball has come to rest,
02:06I hope you think you can see on the camera, in the bunker here, in the temporary water.
02:10Yeah.
02:11And I know that I'm allowed to take a drop here, but I can't see anywhere I can drop.
02:15That means that I won't still be stood in the water. So what am I allowed to do? What
02:19am I not allowed to do in this scenario?
02:21Okay. Well, I think golfers, a lot of golfers know that when you're taking relief from something,
02:25you're going to have to take complete relief. So typically, elsewhere on the course, you
02:29can't have your feet still in the, in the water, temporary water. However, in bunkers
02:34and also on the puttergreen, we'll come on to in a minute, you can take what is called
02:38point of maximum available relief. So the point where you get as much relief as possible from
02:43there, but your feet might still be in the water or the ball might still be in a bit of shallower water.
02:48Right. Okay. So I have the option then to drop it just to the side there. I'll still be
02:52in the water or under penalty.
02:55Yeah.
02:56I've still got the options taken unplayable here.
02:58Yeah. I mean, that is the shot you're trying to save yourself is by still being able to play
03:03without taking the penalty that it would cost you to drop outside the bunker.
03:06Yes.
03:07So by being able to play that still, you may get up and down and save par. Going outside
03:13to drop, you're trying to get up and down for bogey.
03:16Okay. So clarify for us what you were just referring to about the green.
03:20On the putting, it's a similar thing on the putting green. And you have to remember that
03:24with an abnormal course condition, which typically on the putting green and in a bunker would be
03:30temporary water, you normally only get relief from it. On the putting green, you get relief
03:36if it's lying between you and the hole, if it's on your line of play as well.
03:39Right. Okay.
03:40But again, on a really flooded green, there might be nowhere where you can get complete relief.
03:44But again, on the putting green, you can take point of maximum available relief where you might
03:48have to putt through shallower water.
03:50So there you have it. Maximum available relief. Well worth knowing.
03:54Okay. So the next one on our list of rules that golfers find confusing relates to practicing on the golf course.
04:05Now, Jez, what do people need to know here?
04:07Well, I mean, basically there's not a lot of practice you can do during a competition round,
04:11and that's stroke play or match play, but it's not completely restricted.
04:16You can putt and chip on or around the green that you've just played,
04:21or on or around the tee of the hole you're just about to play.
04:24But chipping and putting only, no bunker shots, no other shots.
04:27But you can do that as long as you're not delaying play by doing so.
04:31Okay, that's clear. So then that begs the question,
04:33is there anything else that you can't do when it comes to practicing on the course?
04:36Well, in a match play competition ahead of a match play round,
04:39you can go and play the golf course beforehand if you want to.
04:41Right. In a stroke play competition, you can't go on the golf course at all.
04:44So if the 18th green is clear and you fancy just going out and having a quick putt
04:49to see what pace the greens are rolling out that day, you can't do that.
04:52You're going to have to restrict that to the practice putting green,
04:54but not any of the greens you're going to be playing during that round.
04:57So there you have it. Those are the keys that you need to know
04:59when it comes to practicing on the golf course.
05:09Oh, that's not very good.
05:14Now, hold on. Before you go ahead there.
05:16What's that? Two and a half, three feet.
05:18You've not been that good from that range.
05:20So we're playing in a match and you don't have the right in a match
05:24to go ahead and tap in and finish the hole.
05:26Right.
05:27The order comes into play in match play more than in stroke play,
05:30where there's the drive towards ready golf.
05:32In match play, there's a different dynamic.
05:34If I now make mine because it's my turn to play,
05:37your putt potentially becomes a lot harder.
05:39Yes.
05:40So for that reason, the order is more important in match play.
05:43So let me ask you a question, Jess.
05:44What happens if I do go up and just tap it in from here and I make the putt?
05:48What happens next? Have I broken the rules?
05:50Well, you've broken a rule, but there's no penalty.
05:53Only if I decide to make you take the ball back out,
05:56put it back where it was and play the shot again in the correct order.
05:59Right. So effectively that putt gets cancelled and I get another go.
06:02You would get another go if I decided that you'd effectively gained an advantage
06:06by getting to go at your shorter putt first.
06:09Yes. And it's just one of those things that would be pretty awkward, wouldn't it?
06:12It would be.
06:13I mean, you and I have played enough golf together over the years
06:15that I don't think it would be awkward between us.
06:16But I think if you're playing in a match against somebody,
06:18you don't want to be left in that situation.
06:21So my advice would be in this particular scenario,
06:23just go up and mark the ball.
06:24If the player wants to give it to you, fine.
06:26But if not, just put the marker down and avoid any of this kind of awkwardness
06:30that can surround this particular scenario.
06:38OK, so in the scenario we're faced with here,
06:40we've got a golf ball here on the fringe.
06:42We've got a clump of sand also on the fringe
06:45and another bit of sand on the green.
06:47And there are certain things you can do and certain things you can't do.
06:50I think a lot of golfers, myself included,
06:52would find this particular scenario slightly confusing.
06:55Jez, clear it up for us. What can you do?
06:57OK, well, I think the important thing to say is that under the definitions,
07:01sand and loose soil are not classed as loose impediments.
07:04Right.
07:05So here you can't move this on the fringe.
07:08However, there is within the rules special dispensation, if you like,
07:12to remove sand and loose soil on the putting green only.
07:14So you could brush that away there, but you can't touch this slightly more prominent clump of sand here off the green.
07:22So there you have it.
07:23If your instinct would be to brush away this sand here, as mine would probably be,
07:27then beware, don't do it, otherwise you'll run into trouble with the rules.
07:30Hold on. Can I just stop you there, Tavis? You're not about to play that, are you?
07:41Yeah, I was about to play that, yeah.
07:43Right, but this is not the putting green of the hole you're playing, is it?
07:46No, but there's, you know, it's a lynx course.
07:49There's not much thick grass between me and the green.
07:52I reckon I can get this quite close by putting it.
07:54And you possibly could, but sadly, you're not allowed to even attempt to do so,
07:57because you cannot play from a wrong green, you must take relief.
08:01Okay, right, so even if there was only three feet of fringe grass between me and the right green,
08:08I still wouldn't be able to put this?
08:09You wouldn't, no.
08:10The only time you could play from what appears to be the green of a wrong hole to the correct hole
08:15is when it's a double green, a shared green.
08:16Right, okay, so what do I need to do? Where do I go?
08:18Well, here, your nearest point of relief is probably over that way,
08:22and it does make the shot a little bit tougher, but unfortunately the rules don't allow you any leeway.
08:27You must take relief from the wrong green and you cannot play the ball as it lies.
08:32Right, there we go.
08:34So there you have it, that's our look at six rules golfers find confusing.
08:38I hope you found that helpful.
08:39If you have, please do hit the like button.
08:41Also, please do leave some comments below.
08:43Is there anything that we've missed?
08:44We're always looking for ideas for future content, so we'd be interested to hear your thoughts.
08:48But that's it for now, thanks for watching.
08:50We'll see you next time.
Recommended
2:27
|
Up next
5:02
12:18
1:29
2:00
1:10
3:15
5:36
6:04
14:33
7:03
17:55