Nobel Peace Prize 2021 Awarded To Journalists Maria Ressa of Philippines & Russia's Dmitry Muratov For 'Efforts To Safeguard Freedom Of Expression'

  • 3 years ago
On October 8, Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov, won the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize. It was decided to award the Nobel Peace Prize to Philippines journalist Ressa and Russian journalist Muratov for their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression, which is a precondition for democracy and lasting peace. Ressa and Muratov were awarded for their courageous fight for freedom of expression in the Philippines and Russia. The Norwegian Nobel Committee said Ressa & Muratov are representatives of all journalists who stand up for this ideal in a world in which democracy and freedom of the press face increasingly adverse conditions. Watch the video to know more.